Geoff Anderson - Jennie Sue Brown State Honor Award


Geoff will be honored on Saturday, June 15th at the AIA Seattle President’s Dinner for the Jennie Sue Brown Award – the highest honor bestowed by AIA Washington Council, honoring the legacy of Jennie Sue Brown, FAIA, who epitomized public service and advocacy for architecture in Washington State.  As a professional, Geoff’s practice has focused on community projects, with an expertise in parks & recreation, aquatic centers, and affordable housing.

Geoff has been working to serve the architecture profession for over 20 year. Since his time serving as AIAS President at the University of Washington, to serving on the AIA Seattle Board, and his recent tenure as President of AIA Washington Council, he has found great pride in bettering the practice for architects at all levels. He service to the profession has included serving on committees for the Seattle Architecture Foundation and as Chair of the Laddership mentoring program for over 10 years. He also continues to serve the AIA Washington Council as the Chair of the Livability and Affordability Committee.

In 2014 Geoff was recruited to the Executive Committee of the AIA Washington Council. It turned out that this was a crucial time for the AIA Washington Council. There was turmoil with the staff, inter-chapter operations, financial malfeasance, and a national push to reposition AIA’s structure from the top down. Geoff’s tenure on the Executive Committee was filled with managing the re-organizing efforts that involved re-assessing the overall relationships between the multiple local AIA Chapters and the Council. As part of that work, he led the effort to re-write the Council bylaws around the new structure, vision, and mission. This resulted in a smaller Board and increased focus on involving the membership in advocacy agendas.

It was for this work in strengthening the AIA Washington Council, making it able to better serve its architect members in Washington State, that Geoff received the Jennie Sue Brown Award.

Congratulations Geoff and to all the 2019 Honorees!


-The Froggers